36th Crow Pass Crossing

July 24, 2021


Crow Pass filled its 150-runner capacity on May 13. You can sign up for the waitlist HERE (no charge) by clicking the green “Register” button:




Alaskan 22.5-mile backcountry footrace from Girdwood to Eagle River




After a one-year hiatus due to the pandemic — only the 2nd race cancellation in its history — Crow Pass will return on July 24, 2021! Our COVID-19 mitigation plan will include some changes to the start format and post-race festivities, but the essence of Crow Pass will remain the same: a tough run with friends through challenging and beautiful country. We hope you can join us.
See the “Race Info” page for all the details!


June 2, 2020 — Healthy Futures is disappointed to announce that the 2020 race scheduled for July 18 is canceled. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we were unable to secure all of the permits required to hold the event.

Healthy Futures believes our comprehensive mitigation plan would have kept racers, volunteers and officials safe and we feel that these types of events — small races in the backcountry with spread-out runners and few volunteers  — can safely be held during this pandemic.

We look forward to the 36th Crow Pass Crossing in July 2021 and thank all Crow Pass runners, volunteers, sponsors and other supporters for their understanding and continued support.

-Matias Saari & Harlow Robinson, co-directors


Congrats to 2019 Crow Pass Crossing champions Christy Marvin and Scott Patterson and all the participants, plus our sponsors, volunteers, permitting agencies and organizers 

Orzel Productions, Crow Pass 2013

Max Romey Productions, Crow Pass 2014

Crow Pass, an iconic Alaskan footrace

In 1984, the Crow Pass Crossing began as a “28”-mile adventure from above Girdwood to the Eagle River Nature Center.

Since then, the event has “shrunk” to its accurate length of about 22.5 miles. It has also grown in stature as an iconic Alaskan footrace replete with stunning mountain and glacier views (if you dare look up from the highly technical trail), sloping snowfields, chest-high brush, a crossing of the frigid and fast-moving Eagle River, wildlife including bears, bees and moose, and countless rocks and roots that make staying upright a constant challenge. And there are no course markers or aid stations.

Hikers typically require two or more days to traverse the trail. The fastest Crow Pass racers now take less than three hours, though anyone finishing in under six hours gains immense satisfaction and respect as a Crow Pass Crossing finisher.


Interested in Sponsoring? Click HERE for the Sponsorship Levels.






Thanks also to logo designer Amber McDonough, website designer Jay Mullen, our timers at Lazy Mountain Foothills Running Club, and all the other volunteers that make this event possible.